COVID-19 Update: We're Open!!! La Jolla Hair Restoration Medical Center®, values the health and safety of our patients. Read More about how we are addressing the current situation.

Patient Reviews


Submit a Review

La Jolla Hair Restoration Medical Center®
5 5 Star Rating based on 36 reviews
6515 La Jolla Boulevard, Suite C La Jolla, CA 92037
858-459-8600

“My 2012 Restoration”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on May 2, 2019

Dr Carman did my transplant in 2012. It is holding up great. It was a major transplant . He and his staff (Pam and the others) are caring, honest and effective. It is the one investment I have never regretted. I can look in the mirror and not fear what I see in regards to my hair. They are the best in my opinion.

by

“Great Hair Trasnsplant and Experience”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on April 18, 2019

I just wanted to thank you Dr Carman and your staff. It has now been two years since the procedure and I could not be happier of the results. The hair line is very natural. Also, I would like to say that you, Pam snd Diana were extremely nice and made me feel very comfortable.

by

“Really great experience!”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 19, 2018

Dr. Timothy Carman is the best! He really made me feel comfortable being there, he’s very easy to talk with and Pam is the best the nicest person you’ll ever meet and the ladies working with Dr. Carman are so nice and professional. I truly felt very comfortable being there and I researched other places and had consultations at other places but I felt most comfortable with Dr. Carman he made me feel like a friend versus a patient. He takes pride and has passion for what he does and that is what’s most important in this line of work. He’s a true artist and I had my procedure done 2 months ago and I couldn’t be happier, I Highly recommend!!! 👍👍👍

by

“Best you can get”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on May 29, 2018

I have had three different hair restoration doctors over the last 30 years (I started thinning in my early 20s); the first doctor did a terrible “Barbie Doll” procedure, but I found a good second doctor who more or less repaired it with micro and mini grafts and did additional work. A couple years ago I decided to get some final work done, but unfortunately my second doctor had passed away. I did quite a lot of research and found Dr. Carman’s credentials to be top-notch (he actually wrote the board exams for the 25th World Congress of the International Society of Hair Restoration in Prague in 2017). I completed two procedures with him and the results are beyond expectations. A doctor can have all the modern hair restoration training in the world, but without artistic talent the results will not be there. Dr. Carman is also a talented painter and artist; combine that with his technical ability and the results are stunning. He’s also a terrific guy and fun to talk to, and his staff are terrific as well. Having had 3 different doctors and 30+ years of experience in this game, I can honestly say you won’t find anyone better anywhere.

by

“In great hands!”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on September 11, 2017

This review is long overdue. I had noticed hair thinning out for years but it took forever for me to get the courage to go forward with consulting with hair restoration centers. Upon doing so I was skeptical as some doctors had no real experience and used techs that were regional in southern CA to do most of the procedure. I had a consultation with Dr. Carman and it changed everything. He is so honest, has an artistic aptitude, and really cares about results so much that he made me see a dermatologist for a biopsy first to make sure I didn’t have any special scalp condition because he noticed uneven thinning. Other places I had consulted with didn’t pay attention to that and merely wanted to schedule me literally the following week. My scalp biopsy checked out fine and I was still nervous about the procedure. Nonetheless it went so smooth last July 2016 and I wouldn’t hesitate to have more done in the future to keep up with thinning as I age. I recently came in for a 14 month follow up with Dr. Carman and he prescribed me a finasteride so I would increase the amount of time before needing another transplant. I’m pleased with the results and it went so smooth I can only hope Dr. Carman is still practicing for some of my future transplants.

by

“So Happy!”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on September 9, 2017

I am so happy with the work from Dr. Carman and his team. I am now six months since the procedure and the improvement is night and day. Thank you so much!

by

“Very happy with the results”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 17, 2017

It’s been 9 months since my procedure and I couldn’t be happier with the results. It’s been an unbelievably great feeling watching my hair get fuller with every passing month. My experience with Dr. Carman and his team before, during, and after the procedure is worthy of 5 stars. The thing that has impressed me the most, other than the results of course, are the spot on expectations that Dr. Carman set throughout the whole process. For those of you worried about the possible discomfort during and after the procedure (like I was). The discomfort was a lot less than I had imagined. The discomfort that I did experience was more than manageable. If you’re thinking about having a hair transplant then I recommend meeting with Dr. Carman. I’m glad I did. Thank you Dr. Carman and team!

by

“Thank you from the bottom of my heart”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on April 6, 2017

Hi Dr. Carman, I never got the chance to thank you from the bottom of my heart of such an amazing job you did on the scar on my head. What touches me is your generosity and your passion in healing people. I told you I was born with a scar on my head, but didn’t have the opportunity until then to get work on it. Instead of hair transplant you did a scalp technique which was brilliant. Although, I didn’t ask for it I appreciate the discount you offered. I will always be grateful to you for giving me back my confidence and your generous heart.

by

“Very Happy”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on December 18, 2016

Very happy with my results. I was even given a 2% travel discount since I lived in Los Angeles. I was not told about this discount until my second consultation meeting so FYI. But the doctor did a fantastic job and I will be having at least one more surgery done in the future. Im an actor so my looks are my paycheck. 🙂

by

“Highest Quality Surgical Service”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on November 30, 2016

Dr Carman and Staff;

I have been a practicing surgeon for the past 37 years so believe me I know how to pick a good surgeon. I chose Dr. Carman to perform my procedure for several reasons.

First, Dr. Carman is caring and genuinely interested in his patients and in doing the right thing and doing it well. He is, as we physicians know him, the Doctor’s Doctor. We trust him because we understand he cares; because he is genuine; and because we all know he will tell us the truth and explain what can (and should) be done, and what cannot (and should not) be done. Dr. Carman’s honesty propels his dedication to quality patient care.

Second, because of Dr. Carman’s training in surgery and specifically in plastic and reconstructive surgery, along with his years of experience and excellent documented outcomes, he has perfected his art of hair restoration surgery. Dr. Carman performs surgery with a degree of quality and dedication that I, as a fellow surgeon, can truly appreciate.

Third, as all truly excellent surgeons know, you need a first rate team to be the bestsurgery is a team effort mastering hundreds of details and steps. Dr. Carman, through Pam, Rebecca, Monica, Lisa, Judy and Diana has assembled a team equally dedicated to patient care thus assuring consistent results they each can truly be proud of.

Finally, Dr. Carman is simply a nice guy. He is real and you can talk to him. You can honesty express your interests and concerns to him. Dr. Carman has time for his patients because he is a caring individual. If you don’t feel comfortable with your doctor, and wouldn’t want to spend time with him would you want him operating on you?

In summary, I was extremely pleased and fortunate to have selected Dr. Carman as my surgeon for my hair restoration procedure. As a physician, and a patient, I continue to recommend him with the utmost confidence that he is a truly caring, dedicated, top tier professional who will deliver the highest quality surgical results possible for each and every one of his patients.

by

“A truly life changing experience!”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on November 29, 2016

I would like to thank you once again. Visiting your office was truly a life-changing experience. I was feeling depressed and helpless because of my hair loss, and I didn’t think that anything could be done. Since then, I have been consistently taking the pills, and have been applying the minoxonil about 90% of the time (occasionally I forget). It has not been an inconvenience for me–it has become part of my daily routine. I think it is too early to tell if I am actually regrowing significant hair, but I have to say, I am confident in saying that my hair loss has slowed down considerably, and perhaps even has come close to stopping.

The biggest change that I’ve experienced is in my confidence. This problem no longer bothers me. I feel like I am doing all that I can for it, and it is working. Before visiting your office, I was extremely embarrassed about my hair loss. If balding was ever brought up, I would become quiet and try to change subject out of fear that I would be made fun of. Now it doesn’t even phase me. The other day, my friends were joking around, saying who would be bald first. It was mentioned that I would be one of the first of my friends group to have major hair loss. Those comments didn’t effect me one bit. I laughed along with them, even agreed with them, but I felt no need to become defensive because I knew something that they didn’t–I was doing something about the problem, and there is a very good chance that I would prove them wrong.

It was also great that you showed me alternatives to save money and make this an affordable option. Propecia and Rogaine would be fairly expensive for my budget. I am a graduate student, and have a tight budget. The cost of the Proscar and Minoxidil is insignificant compared to the job that it is doing.

My sincerest thanks once again, and I look forward to my next visit so I can compare my hair situation then to the photos that were taken at my first visit.

Take care, and have a great day.

by

“No one can tell I had anything done!”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on November 29, 2016

What a wonderful feeling it is. My hairline looks so natural that virtually no one could tell that restoration was performed. The hair is filling in at the anterolateral areas and it is fun to wake up each morning and see the progress. That thinned area at the crown is likewise filling in beautifully and I doubt that I will ever worry about getting my scalp sunburned again!

by

“My results are spectacular!!”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on November 15, 2016

To all of you at LJHRMC you guys kick ass!!!!!! My results were spectacular!!! Even though my hair is thin, I now have hair, and with a little hair spray I can pull off some great heavy metal hairstyles. I have had nothing but compliments on the work you did for me and to be honest your one session blows away a couple sessions performed by the Bosley Medical Group that a wealthier friend of mine had done over the last 2 years. I am not kidding, I can style my hair, and because it is so even I can create a great illusion of full volume, and you can’t tell I am thinning unless you get right into it. I am soooo glad I ran into your outfit, God must have been on my side for once, you were all very professional, yet down to earth good ole people and I really had a good experience with you. Keep up your good work, I’m filling up a glass of beer, and drinking it to you!!! Toast!!! Thanks!!!

by

“Thank you for your care and expertise”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on October 12, 2016

Now that I am on the road to healing, I just wanted to take this opportunity to tell you what a pleasure it was having my procedure done by you and your incredible staff.

I felt like I was in expert and caring hands the whole way though, from our consult on Tuesday to our farewell on Thursday morning. I appreciate you going the extra-extra mile on the graft count, as well as your generous offer to cap the cost at 2800 grafts. That was very kind of you.

Your techs are amazing–they made me feel extremely comfortable.

Pam was super friendly and warm and made me feel very welcome.

Your bedside manner’ was also incredibly comforting for me. I felt calm and relaxed throughout the entire process–I just felt like you were taking care of me.

I am really glad that I decided to hold out to have the procedure done by you personally. If your practice needs a reference, please don’t hesitate to give out my email or phone number. Feel free to use any of this email for the testimonial portion of your website as well.

Thank you again. I shall be in touch with a progress report!

by

“Thank You From Norway!”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on October 12, 2016

From Norway: I trust you have seen my 6 months pictures, and that you, like me, are pleased with the result. Now it is close to 8 months since my visit, and the result has improved to be even slightly better than at 6 months (some more density in the front area). The bottom line is, I am extremely pleased with the result and I cannot thank you enough. Every morning I look in the mirror and think for myself: Yes, that long trip to the States and to La Jolla was certainly worth it. My wife thinks my hair look great and better than she has ever seen it, and when my little son pull my hair I have no worries anymore. I wish you and your family all the best for the upcoming Christmas and the New Year. The same wishes go out from me to the entire staff at your clinic.

by

“Thank you for your excellent work!”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on September 20, 2016

Once again, thank you for your excellent work that you have done for me, I really appreciate it! I can say this because I’ve had three other procedures done, and nothing compares with your expertise, professionalism, and just feeling very comfortable with the whole experience. You’re the best!!

by

“I always felt important”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on September 3, 2016

I also would like to thank your professional and courteous staff for helping me through this procedure they made hair implantation easy. It was clear they were knowledgeable in hair transplantation and in preparing me for transplantation. I always felt important and that ultimate success was all that would be tolerated by them.

by

“Excellent Hair Restoration”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 1, 2016

I just visited my dermatologist here who sends you her compliments stating that she has never before seen such an excellent hair restoration as the one you did for me, and she has seen many. My hair is growing like a weed (from the second procedure) and it has only been five months.

by

“Exceptional Doctor!”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on July 3, 2016

I wanted to say thank you so much for your generosity and help in giving my son, XXX, the “lift” he needed.Rarely in today’s world do we find people so kind and generous of their time. Your office manager was the friendliest person ever and you were both sensitive and kind in assuring XXX he has options.At 18 years old he was quite panicky over the prospect of hair loss.You are definitely the exceptional Dr. you are said to be.

by

“Can’t beat the results!”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on June 19, 2016

I tend to read other people’s opinions about their experience and make decisions based on that. If you read this, please trust me that you will never be able to beat the experience or results I got from Dr. Carman’s office. I would recommend this practice to anyone anytime

by

“Best decision of my life!”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on June 3, 2016

This has been one of the best decisions I have ever made in my life.I am extremely happy with the results and grateful to Dr. Carman for his patience and professionalism.The staff were also very professional and friendly.

by

“Very, very pleased!”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on May 28, 2016

I am in the seventh month now and have thickness along the new hair line as well as density up through the middle. Even the right side of my hairline has thickened. I am very very pleased with the results. I am getting comments such as “I can’t believe how your hair is growing – how thick it is!!”. Personally, I feel like a well taken care of ‘chia’ pet. Water me with Rogaine and I am good! (I am still taking Proscar 1 mg a day and applying Rogaine 5% once at night.

by

“Thank you”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on April 16, 2016

It has now been almost 6 months since you performed my hair restoration.I am so excited! There is not a day that goes by that I do not give a prayer of thanks, to God Almighty, for blessing you with the talent and skill to transform my life (and I am sure hundreds of others). Because of you, I am no longer “holding back”, reluctant, or embarrassed to do certain activities because I don’t have side-burn or nape hair.I can now proudly wear my up, and/or behind my ears!
Dr. Carman, THANK YOU! You are truly blessed!!

by

“There was only one doctor that I would let perform this procedure”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on April 8, 2016

It has been just about four months since I had my hair restoration procedure and I wanted to write to you to tell you how pleased I am with the result. My head doesn’t get sunburned anymore!

For me, the decision to have the procedure was easy. I am well aware of your medical expertise and caring bedside manner from practicing side by side with you both at Paradise Valley Hospital and at Sharp Memorial Hospital. There was only one doctor that I would let perform this procedure on me and of course, that was you Bill.

Please let me know as you expand your expertise into new areas of cosmetic surgery. I want to be sure to sign up to be your first patient.

by

“Thank you for your time and compassion”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on March 25, 2016

I came in your office to see you last week about my hair loss. I wanted to thank you again for the time you took to explain some short term and long term goals that I should have.

I must say that when I left your office, I felt like a whole different person.This problem has been bothering me for quite a while, and it was great to hear about some options that may work against the hair loss. Regardless if the finasteride and minoxidil will work well on me or not, consulting and planning with you has given me confidence to know that I am doing something about it.

by

“You are my heroes”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on March 14, 2016

I wanted to write to say thanks for changing my life!

When I first started looking for a surgeon, it was so scary. We’ve all seen the botched jobs out there. The bad ones are hard to miss. I checked out your website and was amazed at all the grateful thank you letters which you had received! After reading many of them, I was sold.

The initial consultation was not rushed and the best thing is that you really care about each individual patient. That meant a lot to me, I wasn’t just a number!

The entire procedure to your incredible surgical abilities, wow! I was so impressed with the results! My new hairline and hair look totally natural!

So, when I say you changed my life, I really meant it. You guys are my heroes!!

by

“Wonderful Experience”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on February 20, 2016

It was a wonderful experience. I love the new hair and everything was better than I expected. I would be more than happy to talk to anyone considering this procedure. Thank you.

by

“Thank you for what you’ve done for me”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on February 6, 2016

I’m truly glad to have you as my Doctor. I only be amazed when looking into the mirror everyday. I’m thankful for what you’ve done for me. Money seems like a small price to pay for happiness. You’re the best!

by

“Only option for hair restoration”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on January 26, 2016

Having shopped around and being a health care professional I believe that your clinic was and is the only option for hair restoration. Your caring and knowledge in the field of hair restoration are evident to me. The sole purpose of this clinic is the client that was evident from the moment I started this procedure.

by

“Unbelievably Happy!!!”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on December 8, 2015

Well, I wanted to share some great news from my perspective!!! I have officially removed my hairpiece and I am going topless!!

The results are magnificent and getting better each day!! This could not have happened at a better time in my life!! I will be starting a new job in March and I will be able to go into this new job without the embarrassment of wearing that hairpiece. I’ve been slowly introducing my new look to my family and friends and many of them think I just got a short haircut. The ones who knew about the hairpiece have said nothing but great things. My niece and her friend confirmed this the other night when they saw me for the first time and said hey, you cut your hair… What a great feeling!!

With the help of some cover up products such as Toppic and Fullmore, I’ve been able to create a fully acceptable head of hair that quite frankly looks natural and just looks short. I look forward to the day when the product is not needed or reduced drastically. The new hair continues to grow and I hope to see more results from my last session and #4 will just make it that much better. I look forward to the final result!!

I wanted to share my progress with you and thank you all again for the work you have done and making each experience nothing less than FANTASTIC. As I’ve stated before, I was lucky to find you guys and am ecstatic about this new look and life!! Please realize the change that you have helped me experience. The hairpiece was bringing me down and costing me a fortune for little happiness. I really feel like a normal human being now and I don’t feel as if everyone is looking at me…. Please share my thought to everyone there and I will see you guys soon!!

by

“I feel very good and confident.”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on November 17, 2015

I’ve got back to Japan with my family. I am ever so happy that everything was fine there in the U.S. as expected. I feel very good and confident. Really thank you for your kindness and efforts.

I do want to keep in touch with you, not only for your patient but also as friend. Hope every success in you job-doing.

by

“No one knows!”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on October 2, 2015

Only my wife and hair stylist know that I have had work done. My hair stylist even told me that she would not have noticed had I not told her. I have given her your name and number. She cuts more women than men, but she told me that it does come up from time to time and she will definitely give her clients your name.

by

“Improved self esteem!”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on August 9, 2015

I would like to take this opportunity to express my gratitude for giving back my lost hair. It is a wonderful feeling to pass a mirror and recognize my reflection. I never realized how important my full head of hair was until it was returned to me. My self esteem had fallen as my hair thinned. Now that I have my hair back, I have noticed a continued rise in my sense of self worth. I will always be grateful for the full head of hair that I have and will recommend you and this procedure to everyone.

by

“First rate service”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on April 29, 2015

l wanted to write and thank you for the wonderful results of my hair restoration surgery and share with you a recent incident that happened to me.

Last week I had my hair cut for the first time since the operation and my haircutter noticed the small incision above my neck. He asked if I had surgery and was amazed when I told him that I had some hair restoration done to my hair line. He immediately checked both sides of my hairline, and said the transplants were completely undetectable. He went on to tell me that many of his clients had undergone transplant surgery and stated that mine was by far the finest job he had ever seen. He,of course, wanted to know who the surgeon was, so I gave him your name.

He said he wasn’t familiar with you and asked me how I had chosen you over the more well known people in your field. I told him I had done extensive research and had checked out just about every reputable hair surgeon in the San Diego/Los Angeles area. Although many people advertise, I found that very few were actually top notch. Of the few I had been especially impressed by the [xxxxxx] and [yyyyyyy]. My hair cutter said he was aware of both and had seen their work. Although both clinics seemed state of the art in terms of techniques, I was very turned off by the mill quality of their operations. Both had me meet with reps and quoted prices and the number of transplants I would need without me ever having seen the doctor. When I asked to see the doctor, they said I could meet with him 15 minutes before the surgery if I had any questions. Combine that with the fact that I would have to drive all the way to Orange County and L.A. to have the surgery, drive all the way back after the operation, forego the post surgical visits, and it’s easy to understand why I kept looking for someone else.

I told him how you personally had called me back when l first contacted your office and how you answered many of my questions in depth right there over the phone. What a change from the other places I had been talking to!

I was convinced within 15 minutes of my first office consultation that you understood exactly what I needed and would do first rate work getting it accomplished. I was especially impressed by the friendliness and professionalism of your assistants, CiCi and Mandy.

by

“Thank you for the wonderful job”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on March 29, 2015

With the exception of some minor discomfort during the anesthetic procedure, the operation and recovery were virtually pain free. I am absolutely convinced that no one has ever noticed that I had the surgery and the comments from my haircutter bear this out.

Thank you again for the wonderful job.

by

“Best Hair Transplant Experience”

5 5 Star Rating - Written on November 12, 2014

I would like to extend my personal appreciation for the medical services that you and your staff have recently provided to me. As you will recall, I have undergone several hair transplantation procedures in past years performed by another clinical organization well-known and respected for this type of surgery. However, I believe that the quality of service I received at your clinic to easily be the best in every respect. Your skills in dealing with my specific problem case, utilizing the most effective techniques, and executing the procedure with maximum precision and sensitivity was most impressive and appreciated. You may be assured that, should I elect to receive additional treatments in the future, I will come directly to you.

Please also relay my personal thanks to your excellent staff for the very fine work they did for me.

by

Recreate your natural head of hair

Contact Us